Weekly Download Vol. IV No. 34

Yellow Ledbetter by Pearl Jam

As plenty of you are tired of hearing, I turned 35 on Wednesday. I am officially closer to 40 than to 30. As such, I think it’s safe to say we’ve played 4 1/2 in Smithville. Things were rocky early, but it looks like our ace has settled in for the middle innings.  The score is tied 2-2. Let’s cross our fingers for some free baseball as this afternoon plays out.

Something I’ve toyed with for several years is my concept of the list. I mean The List. The things that I love, that have resonated with me, that have created (and continue to create) indelible memories. I’ve tinkered with it, added things, and taken things away, unsure what it was I’m hopping to list/rank, and even more unsure if what I’m hoping to list/rank is even capable of being listed/ranked.

It contains songs, singers, albums, bands, lyrics, books, writers, lines, scenes, movies, actors, athletes, games, single pitches, single plays, restaurants, meals, and single bites (N.B. However, this list has nothing to do with family (and very little to do with friends), because that’s a whole other list filled with things like the way the Toad explains medical procedures (i.e. graphic detail), how you told me you were pregnant the first time, and the way he purposely misses shots on his basketball goal after dad misses one).

So what is The List?  As the compiler of The List through this first half of my life and as I’ve read through it again this week, I can’t say for certain.  So in commemoration of my first 3.5 decades (gulp) I’ll just lay it on you, and let you tell me.

  • Yellow Ledbetter in the pony alone.
  • Roy Williams / Superman
  • Don Gately refusing pain meds in Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace
  • The descent of Walter White, the one who knocks.
  • “When you don’t feel it, it shows/they tear out your soul/
    And when you believe they call it rock and roll” – The Beast and the Dragon Adored – Spoon
  • That Derek Sanderson Jeter doesn’t have to wear a “C” on his jersey for you know he’s The Captain.
  • Pulp Fiction
  • “No way Bells is bigger than Waimea, bra.”
  • Drive-by Truckers
  • The Cheers theme song
  • “The full moon shining off a Camaro’s hood.”
  • Season 3 of The Wire – Television’s Crowning Achievement
  • Aaron fucking Boone
  • Huck Finn making the decision not to turn Jim over
  • The Soft Bulletin – The Flaming Lips
  • Jack White/The White Stripes
  • Tom Cullen finding Stu on his way back to Boulder in The Stand by Stephen King
  • The final episode of the Sopranos
  • The way Mo Rivera bends his back before every pitch
  • A Supposedly Fun Thing I’ll Never Do Again – David Foster Wallace
  • Mule Variations – Tom Waits
  • Ice cold Guinness
  • The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars – David Bowie
  • The four beats of the drum major calling The Pride to order just before kick off.
  • Patrick Daniel Tillman, 1976 – 2004
  • “The difference between the right word and the almost right word is the difference between lightning and a lightning bug.” – Mark Twain
  • The Oklahoma City Memorial Marathon
  • Red beans and rice on the carpet at Charleston.
  • Friday Chelinos
  • Born to Run – Bruce Springsteen
  • Ludivine
  • The carbonation hiss from a Coop Native Amber after a long day at work.
  • This American Life
  • Stankonia – Outkast
  • Saturdays in the fall at the Library.
  • Arms raised in a “V”
  • Rushmore: “I wrote a hit play and directed it, so I’m not sweating it either.”
  • The crackle of old vinyl on the turntable.
  • The smell of rosemary
  • “Never trust a millionaire quoting the Sermon on the Mount” — Arcade Fire
  • The suicide squeeze
  • Game Seven of anything.
  • Danny’s cross-examination of Col. Jessup – A Few Good Men
  • Singing Tiny Dancer on the tour bus with Stillwater – Almost Famous
  • “This never happened…It will shock you how much it never happened.”
  • Tyrion Lannister: “I have a tender spot in my heart for cripples, bastards, and broken things.”
  • That Stringer Bell and Avon Barksdale turned each other in.
  • “I had pictured, as a younger man, that the things I knew and would know were bricks in something that would, effortlessly, eventually shape itself into something recognizable, meaningful.  A massive and spiritual sort of geometry-a ziggurat, a pyramid. But here I am now, so many years on, and if there is a shape to all this, it hasn’t revealed itself.” — You Shall Know Our Velocity by Dave Eggers.
  • “You will become way less concerned with what other people think of you when you realize how seldom they do” – Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace
  • “These are the days that must happen to you” – Walt Whitman

Indeed.

Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekly Download Vol. IV No. 34

  1. Aaron says:

    I love that this entry makes me remember your moments. But really, I love it because It makes me think about mine. Good stuff 35 year old father of 2.

Leave a Reply

