Weekly Download Vol. III No. 41

Sixpack by JEFF the Brotherhood (6.8) I’m efforting to get back into the groove/rattling the vacation off me/got a bit of Olympic fever/lazy/decided that offering extensive reviews of the 3.5 books I read on vacation was criminally boring. That being said as such, no other ideas fomented.  So here’s what you get:

Books:

1. Storm of Swords (Game of Thrones, book III) = bitchingly bad ass; 2. The Mayor’s Tongue by Nathaniel Rich = well written, crackles with tension between to seemingly related story lines, a fantastic read; 3. Kitchen Confidential by Bourdain (I guess I hadn’t read this before. I’ve owned if for awhile and just assumed I’d read it because I’ve read so much of his other stuff. I own a lot of books like that.) 3.5. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – A little orphan girl in Nazi Germany.  How do you beat that? (This may actually be the best book I read during the week.  However, once I got about half way through, I Googled the author and discovered the book is actually considered Young Adult and was on the New York Times Children’s Best Seller List for 230 weeks.  Please consider all future book recommendations in light of this admission.)

Vacation:

This is more or less what it was like. Gulf Shores is great, and my in-laws are a complete riot.

I’ll get ya next week.

Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

