Weekly Download Vol. III No. 21

Genesis by Grimes (ups to Killamike on the recco (N.B. I don’t know what in the hell you (consummate appreciator of The Clash/Def Leppard/Wu-Tang) are doing listening to this, but it kicks ass.) (N.B. And be forewarned, if a cop pulls you over up there and you’re listening to shit like this, they’ll register you as a sex-offender.))

Grimes (a/k/a Claire Boucher) describes her music as “post-internet.” And I have to be honest with you, I don’t know what in the hell “post-internet” means.  I thought I had it figured out. But once I over-thought that definition, it ceased making sense. What her music might be is “post-GarageBand.”  What it can’t mean is music that’s more advanced than or moved past the internet.  It’s not like the internet is a musical instrument justifying a descriptor like “post-electric guitar.”  However, it could mean she’s Googled up a bunch of noises and turned them into this.  Whatever. She’s young, but people describing their own creations (short of “music” or “painting” or “film”) are pretentious and boring.  Give it to me and give me your influences and your passions.  Then the asshole critic will decide what it is.  I’ll decide if it’s alt-country, or neo-soul, or post-internet and not because you described it as such.  (N.B. Golly, Mr. Cranky-Pants.)

But give this a chance.  It’s good and she has some “guerrilla” videos (sighs) on Youtube (esp. the one for Oblivion) that are interesting.

And thus has ended the craziest year of my life.  I would wager the craziest years of Killamike’s and Spike’s lives too.  The G-Unit is officially one, i.e. I’ve officially worked on ruining his life for an entire year.  So in commemoration of it, below we have “post text-message” fatherhood in all its visceral and Point Break obsessed glory.

Happy March Birthdays to the youngest Weekly Downloaders, Beckett, Jillian and The Bode.

Enjoy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly Download Vol. III No. 21

  1. Spike says:

    I’ll never forget running into you in the hospital 1 year ago and thinking to myself… “Well lookie there… Matty had sex…”. Cheers to you guys for making it one year. Truly an unrivaled experience so far. And we havent even gotten to the part where stairs and swimming pools come into play… much less dating a strapping young gentleman like your son.

  2. TMatt says:

    I’ll never forget how completely blitzkrieged we both looked. Reminded me of Breckenridge ’02.

Leave a Reply

