Weekly Download Vol. II No. 14

I Just Don’t Know What to Do With Myself  by The White Stripes I had a big bit of potpourri planned in homage to the unfortunate conjunction of the stircraziness of Snowpacalypse 2011 and the first two days of the 4th Annual Alcohol Free February.  The WD was to be Summer by Modest Mouse. I was going to offer all types of fun snow/winter facts and I planned on re-offering the same quote I did last year during the throws of the winter-pacalypse (what a great way to end a word): “In the depth of winter, I finally learned that there was within me an invincible summer.” Albert Camus – Summer in Algiers.  Instead, I get to add to my malaise begun with spending my entire morning shoveling my driveway

only to be met with the news that (“sniffle” deep breath) The White Stripes have broken up.  Most of you are aware of my fondness (my absolute fondness) for this band.  Seven Nation Army was the WD song of the decade.  Elephant was in the top ten albums of the decade.  In 2002 this band, as we as a society were mired in a Limp Bizkit/Linkin Park induced enervation,  (and I embrace how cheesy this is about to sound) restored my faith in rock’n’roll.  Not rock’n’roll as some force for good (Bono) or rock’n’roll as the outlet for turn of the century despondency (Radiohead) or whateverthefuck it was Nickleback did for people, but melt your face off rock’n’roll. Something to fill the vacuum left by Cobain and the collapse of Soundgarden and the ascendency to elder statesmen status of Pearl Jam.  The White Stripes did this, and they never stopped melting my face off.  How I anticipated my review of their next album to share with you all (keep it together).  Godspeed, Jack and Meg.  I’ll leave you with their sign-off statement, which I at least found touching.

“The White Stripes do not belong to Meg and Jack anymore. The White Stripes belong to you now and you can do with it whatever you want. The beauty of art and music is that it can last forever if people want it to. Thank you for sharing this experience. Your involvement will never be lost on us and we are truly grateful.”  Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

