Weekly Download No. 40

World News by Local Natives.  The expression “dog days of summer” comes from Sirius, the dog star.  In the northern hemisphere it rises and sets at approximately the same time as the sun from early July to early September.  Ancient people, particularly the Greeks and Romans, believed that this star and its partnership with the sun contributed to it being hotter than the 7th level of hell during this time period (You know, for being the inventors of democracy, the ancient Greeks also conceived some fairly stupid shit.).  I particularly enjoyed this passage: “Dog Days were popularly believed to be an evil time “when the seas boiled, wine turned sour, dogs grew mad, and all creatures became languid, causing to man burning fevers, hysterics, and phrensies” according to Brady’s Clavis Calendarium, 1813.” Yes, the wine is turning sour and dogs are growing mad.  In the dead of winter, in the middle of snowpacalypse, I distinctly remember thinking “don’t bitch about it being hot, remind yourself how much you hate the cold.”  And I hate the cold.  But as the heat index approaches 106 today, I am beginning to realize that maybe I just hate the weather (I know I hate weathermen).  Perhaps I need to live in some sort of bio-dome.  (N.B.  Has WD actually been reduced to me initiating a one-sided conversation about the weather?)  Summer awesome music seems to have waned (this may not be anywhere close accurate and could simply a direct result of the correlation between the muggy oven outside and my mood.)   I feel like I’m waiting in this oppressive heat for the new Arcade Fire album to be released because I have already written most of the WD in my head, without even knowing which track from it I will recommend.  (I love the expression “in my head.” My wife is quite fond of it, as in “I was thinking in my head.”  Which, when she says it, I find it unbelievably cute.  But, if it were to come from, say Ford, my immediate response would be “which head?”)  This song makes me think of a montage sequence (in the fall as the leaves are changing) of boarding school kids in uniforms on campus walking to class and horsing around.  That seems pretty nice right now.  Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

