Weekly Download No. 39

I banged my head against my keyboard for a good hour last Wednesday night to no avail.  I had a song picked an everything, then, nothing.  For your records, WD No. 39 is/was Dear God 2.0 by The Roots from their new album How I Got Over.  The song is great.  The entire album is fantastic, funky, jazzy, topical and just strong, one of the better hip-hop albums I’ve heard in the past couple of years.  However, I feel like the moment passed for WD purposes, but you should check out the song.  Oh, just to keep everything on the up and up, after some additional reading/listening I learned that I Never Cry by Nina Simone actually is an homage to (if not a verbatim (or whatever the musical equivalent is) cover of) the Alice Cooper song.  So there ya go.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

