Weekly Download No. 36

Plundered My Soul by The Rolling Stones.  This is the re-engineered song from the reissued Exile On Main St. released recently.  From my understanding, it’s “re-engineered” as the music was originally recorded during the Exile On Main St. sessions in the 70s but Mick’s vocals were only laid down/or supplemented recently.  It shows.  This is how I say Mick, unlike the rest of us, is not as young as he used to be.  Regardless,  I really anticipated the reissue of Exile On Main St.  Virtually anyone who has ever written anything resembling rock criticism calls Exile on Main St. one of the greatest albums in the history of rock and roll, if not the greatest (I’m serious, people say it).  I agree with them.

What’s more, it’s an album that has cemented its place in my ever nebulous Top Ten Albums Ever.  Ever nebulous as my top ten has more than ten albums as I tend to shuffle albums in and out of it with some frequency.  However, there are a number of albums that have attained “permanent” status (much in the same way there is a UN Security Council with 15 members, 5 of which are “veto-wielding permanent members” (China, France, Russia, UK and the US of A) and ten of which are “elected non-permanent members with two years terms.” (N.B. I actually like this metaphor enough that I am removing it from the parenthetical and making it the focus of the WD and will save my tedious meditation of the death of the album as a expressive music medium for later.))

So, the permanent members, with veto power, of my Top Album, um, Security Council are (in no particular order) Exile On Main St. (The Rolling Stones), Astral Weeks (Van Morrison), Mule Variations (Tom Waits), Yield (Pearl Jam) and Decoration Day (The Drive by Truckers).  The remaining ten of the “non-permanent” revolving members, broken down by region, are: (6) Born to Run (Bruce Springsteen) and (7) Kind of Blue (Miles Davis) from Generally-accepted-as-great-albums-land; (8) August and Everything After (Counting Crows) and (9) Sublime (Sublime) from Seriously-lacking-in-merit-but-always-get-consideration-because-of-the-times-of-my-life-they-remind-me-of-land; (10) Elephant (The White Stripes) and (11) Funeral (Arcade Fire) from I’ll-probably-soon-have-to-expand-the-number-of-permanent-members-land;   (12) American IV: The Man Comes Around (Johnny Cash) from Johnny-Cashenland; (13) The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and The Spiders from Mars (David Bowie) from Western Bowitania; (14) Who’s Next (The Who) from England; and (15) His Epic Hits (Merle Haggard) from It’s-my-list-so-I-can-have-greatest-hits-on-it-if-I-choosenland.  Whew.

Now wasn’t that better than a rambling lament on music downloads and the death of the album?

Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekly Download No. 36

  1. Pingback: Weekly Download Vol. II No. 26 | weeklydownload

Leave a Reply

