Weekly Download No. 33

Everlasting Light by The Black Keys.  I don’t know much, but I know this song really makes me happy.  Expect to hear it in my car a lot this summer (if you’re in my car), or during the extravagant parties I plan on throwing at my house (should you be invited).   It may be because I know these guys are singing it.  I love The Black Keys particularly because they look like a couple of dorks. I read an article in Rolling Stone about them this week and it really made me like them more.  They’re like brothers (which is the name of their new album), they call each other pussies, get drunk and fight. Then hug and make up in the morning.  I just love that sh_t.  Then I realized I have some kind of obsession/facination with two person bands.  I’m a huge White Stripes fan, huge.  This obsession even goes back to the 90s with Local H and more recently with the Keys, of course, and She and Him (I said it).  I think I love that two person bands don’t break up over some difficult social dynamics.  They just get mad at each other and quit being friends.  They are no contrived “reunions.”  It’s just two people.  One calls the other and says “hey, you wanna make some music?” Simple.   Additionally, this makes two consecutive Black Keys’ albums that my favorite song on the album is the first track.  In the days before Itunes, Napster, CDs hell even cassette tapes, Side A Song 1 (or Side 1 Song 1) used to be a big deal (hell, entire albums themselves used to be big deals.  I digress, but it won’t be the last you hear of it).  If you were playing an LP, SAS1 had to be the first song you listened to pretty much every time.  As such, there are some pretty famous SAS1s. E.g. Thunder Road (Springsteen) What’s Going On (Marvin Gaye) Teen Age Riot (Sonic Youth) Purple Haze (Hendrix) Smells Like Teen Spirit (Nirvana) Gimme Shelter (Rolling Stones) London Calling (The Clash).  However, I feel for a proper album that the third song has to be the money maker.  The first song must bring you in.  The second song is normally filler, but not wasted enough to make you skip it entirely.  Then the third song brings you home.  It’s the song you want to build your album around. See: Pearl Jam, Ten (Once, Even Flow, Alive), Nirvana, In Utero (Serve the Servants, Scentless Apprentice, Heart Shaped Box) Jay-Z, The Black Album (December 4th, What More Can I Say, Encore)……I’ve searched and I really can’t find any more of these to back up my point. (and lets be honest, everything after Ten was a stretch).  Maybe this was a faulty premise.  Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

